Index Knives
Biography
Knifemaking
Gallery
Contact
Impressum

Home


The Knifemaking Process



It is now more than 20 years that Gernot Loquai is making high-quality knives, and he did not ease up in his pursuit for quality. On one hand this shows in his perfectly and completely equipped workshop which forms the technical base for the precision of his backlock-folders. The other side is his competence which helps him select the materials for his knives:

  • high quality blade steels (1.4111, 1.4112, ATS 34, RWL, 4528, stainless CMP-steels as well as stainless or stain resistant damascus steels,
  • stainless steels V4A, 4034 (also heat treated), aluminium alloy (a very hard one, also with hard coating surface) or titanium for the interframe body,
  • handle inlay materials of superb beauty: mother-of-pearl, mammoth- or elephant ivory, stabilized coloured wood scales, desert iron-wood, stabilized giraffe bone, Micarta and others,
  • knife sheaths or cases from specially selected tanned cattle leather, sewn by hand
  • The finished knives will often go to others masters of arts for engraving or scrimshaw

The blades are cut out from sheet material and precision ground on different machines (stock removal method). Loquai has a number of grinders which are readily equipped with different grain size belts. They are used for flat or hollow grinds and the finishing steps of the blades.

The interframe parts of the handle are being ground mostly on a very precise disc grinder with horizontal axis and vertical grinding plate. As Gernot Loquai has very defined concepts about the finished product, the surface treatment requires a lot of working time. He would not accept anything less than perfection. Thus, the final step is a fine hand-rubbing with grain 2.000.

The resulting objects are beautifully shaped, sturdy, and unique pieces of fine cutlery. They can be good companions as edc (= every-day-carry), for hunting, fishing and other outdoor activities. In the same time they are mechanical pieces of art, being esteemed and searched for by collectors. You should look at them, take them into your hands and feel their perfect shapes and functions. Then you have to decide what they might mean to you.

Index Messer
Biografie
Herstellung
Galerie
Kontakt
Impressum

Startseite


Die Messer und ihre Herstellung



Seit über 20 Jahren stellt Gernot Loquai nun hochwertige Messer her, und der Qualitätsanspruch ist dabei ständig gewachsen. Das dokumentiert sich einerseits in einer perfekt und vollständig eingerichteten Werkstatt, die die technische Grundlage für die hohe Präzision der Klappmesser mit Backlock bildet. Darüber hinaus wählt Loquai die Materialien für seine Messer mit Kennerschaft aus:

  • hochwertige Stähle (1.4111, 1.4112, ATS 34, RWL, 4528, rostfreie pulvermetallurgische Stähle sowie rostfreie oder rostträge Damast-Stähle),
  • V4A, 4034 (auch gehärtet), Aluminiumlegierungen oder Titan für die Interframe-Platinen,
  • Griffeinlagen von erlesener Schönheit aus Perlmutter, Mammut- oder Elefantenelfenbein (mit Cites); stabilisierte eingefärbte Hölzer und tropische Hart- hölzer, Wüsteneisenholz, stabilisierte Giraffenknochen, Micarta u.ä.
  • Messerscheiden oder -taschen aus besonders hochwertigem lohgarem Leder, von Hand genäht
  • Die fertigen Messer werden z.T. mit unterschiedlichen Dekors versehen: Scrimshaw sowie Gravuren verschiedener Künstler bzw. Meister.

Die Klingen werden aus dem rohen Flachmaterial ausgesägt oder erodiert, danach auf einer Flachschleifmaschine präzisionsgeschliffen. Der Endschliff - flach oder hohl - geschieht auf diversen Bandschleifgeräten, die, mit Bändern unterschiedlicher Körnung bereits bestückt, bereit stehen. Die Formgebung der Klappmessergriffe erfolgt zum großen Teil an einer Diskus-Tellerschleifmaschine mit senkrecht stehendem Schleifteller.

Viel Zeit benötigt die Endbearbeitung. Gernot Loquai hat sehr konkrete Vorstellungen über die Oberflächen, und weniger als perfekt wäre nicht gut genug. Dafür wird dann mit 2000er Schleifpapier das Finish von Hand gemacht.

Die so gefertigten Produkte sind formschöne, extrem robuste Messer-Unikate; zuverlässige Begleiter für den Alltag, die Jagd, den Fischfang und andere Outdoor-Aktivitäten. Gleichzeitig sind sie mechanische Kunstwerke, die von Sammlern geschätzt und begehrt werden. Man muss sie sehen, in die Hand nehmen, ihre perfekten Funktionen erleben und dann für sich selbst entscheiden, was sie einem bedeuten.